Skip to main content

CALEA Update Magazine | Issue 108

Colorado Springs Conference Review

Printer-friendly version

The Fall 2011 CALEA Conference at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colorado, was a rousing success with the Colorado Springs Police Department once again serving as the host agency with assistance from the Rocky Mountain Accreditation Network. The Host Committee Chairman, Sergeant Darrin Abbink, and Vice-Chairman, Lieutenant Scott Whittington, and the rest of the members did an outstanding job of making sure everyone had a productive and enjoyable conference. A special thank-you goes to Colorado Springs Interim Chief of Police Peter Carey for his support. A well deserved “Thanks and Great Job!” goes to the entire Colorado Springs Police Host Committee!

On Wednesday, November 16, the Opening Ceremony began with attendees being treated to a stunning demonstration from the Colorado Springs Police Rifle Drill Team followed by the posting of the flags by the Police Honor Guard. Twelve year old singing sensation, Ms. Ashley Abbink, daughter of Sergeant Abbnick, sang the national anthem, and the invocation was provided by Chaplain Bill Grimes. Welcoming comments were made by Commission Chair Louis M. Dekmar, followed by Colorado Springs Mayor Steve Bach. CALEA Executive Director Sylvester Daughtry, Jr. offered his welcome also, introduced the CALEA staff, and provided information on workshops and conference activities.

Immediately after the opening session, the schedule of training workshops began. Commission staff conducted various CALEA-specific training classes, with additional topical workshops skillfully presented by other presenters. The following workshops were presented: The Future of Volunteerism in Policing, Amanda Terrell-Orr, Colorado Springs Police Department; Addressing Homeless Issues in your Community, Officers Brett Iverson, Dan McCormack, and M.J. Thomson, Colorado Springs Police Department; CALEA + PowerDMS™ STANDARDS = International Accreditation Simplified, Josh Brown, CEO, Innovative Data Solutions, Inc., Orlando, FL; Ethics for Law Enforcement, Lieutenant Scott Whittington, Colorado Springs Police Department; Colorado’s Leading in Police Organizations Training Program, Sergeant David Edmondson, Colorado Springs Police Department; Effective Communication Training Office Program, Sheila Hanna-Wiles, Education and Training Administrator, APCO Institute; ¡Sí, Pueden! Involucren a Ciudadanos Voluntarios en su Departamento de Policiía, Patricia Kule, Valley School of Colorado; Motivating Others to Motivate Others!, Zeta Fail, Communications Manager, College Station (TX) Police Department; Massacres in Manchester, Chief Marc Montminy, Manchester (CT) Police Department; Social Media as an Interactive Interface with the Community, Sergeant Steve Noblitt, Colorado Springs Police Department; Contacto/Protección, Una Táctica del Policía,  Officer Rafael Chanza, Colorado Springs Police Department; Use of Force Considerations - Policy vs. System Standards, Deputy Isaac Petterson, El Paso County (CO) Sheriff’s Office; and Fire Your Field Training Officers!, Bruce Sokolove, Field Training Associates, Ypsilanti, Mi.

At the Full Commission Meeting on Friday afternoon, November 18, the Commission heard committee reports from Corporate Affairs, Outreach, Standards Review and Interpretations (SRIC), and Awards. (For complete information please see the Conference Minutes under the Clients tab on the CALEA website.)

Agency reviews were held on Saturday morning, November 19, with the five Commission Review Committees reviewing a total of 103 agencies: 3 for conditional reviews; 14 for initial law enforcement accreditation; 61 for law enforcement reaccreditation; 5 for public safety communications accreditation; 6 for public safety communications reaccreditation; 3 for public safety training academy accreditation; 1 for public safety training academy reaccreditation; 2 for recognition; 1 for re-recognition; and 7 for recognition through alliance.

Of note, 10 agencies were presented for their 7th Award (above photo): Albuquerque (NM) Police Department; Arlington (TX) Police Department; Brentwood (TN) Police Department; Cape Coral (FL) Police Department; Colorado Springs (CO) Police Department; Fayetteville (NC) Police Department; George Mason University (VA) Police Department; Lombard (IL) Police Department; Lynchburg (VA) Police Department; and Manchester (CT) Police Department.

Five agencies were presented for their 8th Award (above photo): Baltimore County (MD) Police Department; Danvers (MA) Police Department; Elkhart County (IN) Sheriff’s Office; Greensboro (NC) Police Department; Lakewood (CO) Police Department.

During the Saturday evening awards banquet, several awards were presented: the Egon Bittner Award was presented to Sheriff Roger D. Garrison of the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office, Canton, Georgia, and the CALEA TRI-ARC Excellence Award was presented to Nashville, Tennessee and Roanoke, Virginia.

The Colorado Springs Conference was also the last for Commissioners Joseph M. Polisar, Retired Chief of Police of Garden Grove, California Police Department and Robert Greenlaw, Managing Member of the Public Safety Consultants, LLC., Delaware, Ohio. The Commissioners were also recognized for their contributions and service to the Commission. The evening ended with Commission Chair Dekmar announcing the next CALEA Conference in Mobile, Alabama, March 21-24, 2012.

Share this